Things I’m Proud of

I don’t know about you, but I’m kind of an “out of sight, out of mind” girl. It’s easy for me to forget about all the great things that have happened or successes I’ve had, and start feeling unsure and down on myself. That makes it pretty tough to ever think I have interesting enough things to offer the world in a blog, book, podcast or YouTube channel.

Maybe this post can serve as a sort of encouraging personal trophy case, reminding me that sometimes things work out pretty well after all. Maybe you’ll see interesting things you didn’t know about me that spark new conversation the next time we have lunch. I’d like that!

Projects and experiences that I’m proud of and make me smile (in no particular order)…

  • My old Homeschool News Network web site
  • Family ABC book I made as gifts one Christmas
  • Kosovo refugee resettlement ministry I started at Braelinn Church in Georgia
  • Lake Pleasant Community Church kids’ Christmas program
  • Fun memories and friends on my old Amway/Quixtar team
  • Arranging amazing experiences for my kids’ passions, like with Dolphinaris, Wildman Phil, Turf Paradise and Houston Space Center
  • Building from the ground up newspapers Georgia South/Madison County Press/Jefferson County Press with my ambitious mom
  • My poetry/Humble Beginnings Book
  • Publishing students’ creations in my “My Very Own Book” class
  • Making a video of my internship at CNN/ my videos from broadcasting class
  • Working as weekend DJ at Sunny 101
  • Far Out Delivery business
  • Crocheted rag rugs and Grandaddy’s challenge that I couldn’t crochet a yarn glove
  • Holding multifamily potlucks, ladies’ lunches, and our Big Birthday Bashes
  • Making “A Merry Rogers Christmas” album with the kids
  • Poolside Chatter newsletter for CHKD Resource Pool, celebrating the nurses and staff
  • Co-founding and playing on the University of Central Florida Women’s Rugby team
  • Highest ad sales at JCHS yearbook staff
  • Helping my two new Hawaii friends to reconcile in high school, even though it meant there wasn’t room for me anymore
  • Helping friends in marriage crises to reconnect and communicate
  • Being chosen as Grace Duck in the musical Honk when the kids and I got to perform together with MoezArt’s community theater, even though I’m too quiet when I sing
  • Connecting friends to Christ and the church
  • Singing Lookin’ for Love in the Watermelon Talent Show, back when there was such a thing and when I loved watching Urban Cowboy.
  • Numerous Art Show ribbons
  • My ever-popular Animal Encounters class at my Branches homeschool co-op
  • Snagging some incredible guest speakers in my Career Explorers class, supporting the students’ dreams
  • Pulling off an epic East Coast family trip full of birthday parties, nature play, a total solar eclipse and visit to the Ark Encounter
  • Growing my first successful, lush garden in the desert when Sergio was a baby
  • Getting past bodyguards to hug President Clinton as a college journalist, LOL.
  • Coordinating a fabulous Society of Professional Journalists panel discussion and job shadow program at UCF
  • Advocating for and succeeding in having the natural twin birth of my dreams
  • Home water birth for fifth baby
  • Ms. Savannah’s Family Play Care/ Starting a home day care provider network
  • FC&A marketing team, Pain Relief Rub
  • Won a fancy pair of running shoes for winning a college copywriting contest
  • Hosting a multifamily New Year’s Eve Game night party
  • My 25-and-counting-years marriage 😍
  • Making the cut for vocal team at Braelinn, singing in choirs and karaoke
  • Gymnastics, cheerleading, state track team (I’m proud that I can still do cartwheels, backbends and handstands at 48)
  • Predicting twins, huge faith
  • Starting FaithFULL Kids Hoopla Society homeschool co-op with my friend
  • Regional Spelling Bee champion, 8th grade
  • High school and college Brain Bowl teams
  • Climbing trees
  • Good grades/teachers’ pet
  • That time in first or second grade when I made a lunch-line gambling game, ha ha
  • Being chosen in fourth grade to illustrate the yearbook and decorate the class door
  • Handmade science notebook project in middle school
  • Editor of my college newspapers and my wonderful time editing at The Citizen Newspapers in Georgia
  • Having my drawing selected as my church’s new logo
  • Five smart, beautiful, independent, creative, fun young people that I adore spending time with.
(Best trophy in my case is our family)

What are some commonalities I see in these things?

  • New challenge/adventure
  • Starting something new
  • Meeting a need
  • Positive kudos
  • Competitive sense of doing something others won’t, or being better at it
  • My idea coming to fruition
  • Being proud of myself
  • Making people happy
  • Having fun, making friends
  • Being creative

I notice that I am energized being with people full of ideas and creativity, making things happen. (I loved brainstorming about the possibilities of a homeschool resource center we were all calling Narnia… I enjoyed being included when two friends were making a kid lit video… I feel left out when a church or homeschool group has a leadership planning meeting without me, even though I’m not part of the leadership team, ha ha.)

I also notice that some of these things I’ve listed could be considered failures, yet they still make me happy. I think I’ll save my list of things I prefer to avoid for a different post. I’ll end with the upbeat positive thoughts.

Well, this was a weird and imperfect blog post, but a fabulously fun romp down memory lane for me, ha ha! I know I’ll remember more, plus experience new things to add to my “trophy case.” Let me know if you want to hear more about any of these cool experiences.

2 thoughts on “Things I’m Proud of

Leave a comment